Download as PDF

NAACOS Announces 2022 Board of Directors and Committee Members

Washington – The National Association of ACOs (NAACOS) announced its 2022 Board of Directors, as the organization grows in size and prominence and accountable care becomes an increasingly critical part of how health care is paid for and delivered. The Board of Directors helps set NAACOS’ advocacy agenda and member services for all of its ACO and DCE members. Their work will be important as the Biden administration works to implement its publicly stated goal to have all traditional Medicare beneficiaries in a care relationship with a provider who is accountable for their quality and total cost of care by 2030. The 2022 Board consists of eight seats for single ACOs, six seats for organizations with multiple ACOs, one private payer ACO seat, and the CEO, Clif Gaus. An election was held in the fall for two open single-ACO representative seats and two open multi-ACO representative seats with the following result: 

Single-ACO Representatives (three-year term):

  • Jen Moore, MaineHealth ACO
  • Rebecca Rohrbach, NOMS ACO 

Private Payer Representative (three-year term):

  • Karen Wilding, Nemours

Multi-ACO Representatives (three-year term):

  • Travis Broome, Aledade (reelected)
  • Emily Brower, Trinity Health (reelected) 

The following board officers were appointed by the Board for 2022:

  • Past-Chair: Rob Fields, Mount Sinai Health System
  • Chair: Debbie Welle-Powell, Essentia Health
  • Chair-Elect: Tony Reed, ChristianaCare
  • Treasurer: Travis Broome, Aledade
  • Secretary: Emily Brower, Trinity Health
  • Member-at-Large: Kim Kauffman, Best Value Healthcare

Continuing board members not listed above include: Tim Gronniger, Caravan Health; Melanie Matthews, MultiCare Connected Care and Physicians of Southwest Washington; Jamie Reedy, Summit Medical Group – New Jersey; Nina Taggart, Lehigh Valley Health; Anthony Valdes, Collaborative Health System; and Clif Gaus, NAACOS President and CEO.  

Get more information and bios for the 2022 NAACOS Board of Directors. 

NAACOS would also like to announce new members of its 2022 Policy and Quality Committees.  The NAACOS Policy Committee helps guide the NAACOS advocacy agenda to improve the long-term stability and success of the accountable care model. Policy Committee members provide vital feedback to NAACOS on a variety of issues related to the accountable care model, including on policy changes, regulations, and legislation under consideration by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and Congress.  

Travis Broome, Aledade, continues to hold the chair position and new members of the committee are:

  • Maria Alexander, Mount Sinai Health System
  • Kathy Harris, Banner Health
  • Mark Gwynne, UNC Health Alliance
  • Tom Kloos, Atlantic ACO and Optimus Healthcare Partners
  • Jessica Martensen, Essentia Health
  • Steven Miracle, Accountable Care Coalition of Georgia
  • Stephen Nuckolls, Coastal Carolina Quality Care
  • Kathy Parsons, CentraCare
  • Melissa Pollock, CHESS
  • Kelli Todd, UnityPoint Accountable Care
  • Spenser Weppler, OneCare Vermont ACO 

The NAACOS Quality Committee is comprised of board members and NAACOS members with direct involvement in ACO quality improvement efforts. The committee evaluates quality initiatives and requirements that relate to ACOs and focuses on the role of quality in population-based payment models. Committee members help develop and guide NAACOS quality strategy pertaining to Medicare ACO models such as the Shared Savings Programs and other payers with ACO contracts.

Megan Reyna, Advocate Aurora Health, continues to hold the chair position and new members of the committee are:

  • Paula Burleson, Novant Health
  • Rayna Caplan, Caravan Health
  • Aaron Clark, The Ohio State Health ACO
  • Joshua Israel, Aledade 

ACOs are a market-based solution to help lower the cost of healthcare spending, where groups of doctors, hospitals and other providers take responsibility for the total cost and quality of care for their patients. ACOs are incentivized to lower costs by spending less than pre-determined targets and hitting quality measures, earning the right to share generated savings.


David Pittman
NAACOS Senior Policy Advisor
202-640-2689 or [email protected]