Congress of the United States

Washington, **DC** 20515

November 2, 2022

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker H-232, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Republican Leader H-204, The Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader McCarthy:

Thank you for your ongoing support and commitment to continuously improving the Medicare program. As you identify must-pass policies before the end of this Congress, we ask that you continue ensuring the success of Medicare value-based care by extending the 5 percent Alternative Payment Models (APM) incentive payments under the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA).

One of the primary goals of MACRA was to encourage healthcare providers to transition away from fragmented, fee-for-service payment systems into APMs where providers are accountable for the quality and cost of care. To help with this transition, MACRA included a 5 percent incentive payment to encourage practice transitions into APMs. These sensible value-based care investments are set to expire at the end of 2022, which would negatively impact nearly 300,000 clinicians who care for millions of Medicare beneficiaries and slow growth in future participation. Further, it would limit opportunities for rural and underserved communities whose health care providers may need more support to transition to innovative care delivery models.

MACRA's APM incentive payments allow physicians and other health care providers to expand services beyond what is possible under the traditional fee-for-service system, including cost sharing reduction, patient transportation and meal programs, and engagement with care coordinators. These types of care transformations save money for the Medicare Trust Funds while improving care, generating over \$13 billion in gross savings over the past decade. In 2020 alone, Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs) saved Medicare \$2.1 billion – more than triple the \$613 million APM incentive payments. Not only do APMs save the Medicare program money, but they increase the quality of care for seniors across the country. It's clear that MACRA's investments in value-based care have provided a strong return for the government that can continue providing savings in the future, while encouraging the kind of proactive, coordinated health care delivery that patients want and deserve.

We ask that you continue paving the path toward value-based care that Congress and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) have been striving for by ensuring more patients are able to access integrated care at lower costs by providers in APMs. Specifically, we ask that Congress include Section 4 of the Value in Health Care Act (H.R. 4587) in an end-of-year legislative package. This bipartisan legislation would extend the 5 percent APM incentive payments and allow CMS to adjust qualifying thresholds to achievable levels in the coming years. These policies would continue the responsible push toward innovation and coordination in healthcare and improving health outcomes.

Thank you for your consideration to this important matter and your commitment to the health and wellbeing of America's seniors.

Sincerely,

Peter Welch Member of Congress

e War

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress Michael C. Burgess, M.D. Member of Congress

Tarksome Milio

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

Markwayne Mullin Member of Congress

Derek Kilmer

Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick

Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

poeph d. marelle

Member of Congress

Ehreide Bradley Scott Schneider

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Adrian Smith Member of Congress Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress

anetta Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Daniel Meuser

Member of Congress

Manette Diaz Barragán

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress A. Drew Ferguson IV Member of Congress

Carol D. Miller
Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D.
Member of Congress

Gregory T. Murphy, M.D. Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress Meal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress Tom O'Halleran

Member of Congress

Jared Golden

Member of Congress

Mike Thompson

Member of Congress

Stacey E. Plaskett

Member of Congress